32° Clear


GaylaPlanning the annual Gayla event for the RBR Gay – Straight Alliance are (left to right, back row): Courtney Ravelo, Union Beach; James Fogerty, Red Bank; Leah Roberts, Little Silver; GSA president Siobhan Hanson, Red Bank, Cori McQuillen, Red Bank and Sarah Halloran, Red Bank; and (seated) GSA advisor Stacy Liss; Natalie Gunderson, Neptune City; Sofia Dadap, Red Bank, and Cecelia Gunderson, Neptune City. 

Press release from Red Bank Regional High School

The Red Bank Regional High School Gay-Straight Alliance (GSA) is honored to be hosting the fourth annual Gayla event on May 30. The Gayla is sponsored by the MakeItBetter4Youth Foundation, Monmouth County’s consortium for LGBT youth. All open-minded teenagers (13 to 19 years old) in Monmouth County are welcome to attend a fun night of dancing, music, food and refreshments. The Gayla will take place from 7 to 10 pm inside the RBR building at 101 Ridge Road in Little Silver, NJ.

RBR GSA President Siobhan Hansen states of the event, “I am very excited to have the Gayla here at RBR this year. I have attended several in the past and it has always been a lot of fun and very inclusive.”

She adds, “Everyone is accepted at Gayla; and that is the importance of the Gay-Straight Alliance. It is a place where all people feel comfortable with one another no matter how they identify. It is very empowering.”

Read More »


RBR HallOfFamePictured left to right are the April 25 induction luncheon for the 2014 Red Bank Regional Hall of Fame Inductees are Gregory Montgomery, Tiffaney Harris, honorary faculty inductee Dr. Seymour Siegler (seated), Dr. James Burden, and Brian Steckroth. Take it here for more on this year’s inductees and the Hall of Fame program.

Press release from Red Bank Regional High School

On Friday, April 25, the Red Bank Regional Education Foundation (RBREF) held its 2014 Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame induction ceremony at Red Bank Regional High School. Entering the Hall of Fame this year were Greg Montgomery (Class of 1983), former NFL Football Player & Mental Health Advocate; Tiffaney M. Harris (Class of 1989), longtime Red Bank School District staff member and consummate community volunteer ; Dr. James Burden, D.M.D. (Class of 1991), mobile dentist to the elderly and infirm; and Brian Steckroth (Class of 1998), US Naval Academy Graduate, All-American and decorated Iraqi War Veteran. This year’s faculty honoree was Seymour Siegler, Ed.D. Red Bank High School biology teacher and guidance counselor (1957-1972), and co-founder of the Holocaust Museum at Brookdale Community College.

“The selection criterion for induction into the Hall of Fame involves being a role model for our current students,” Jacqueline Caruso Smith, committee chairperson for the event, informed the audience. “Whether someone attended our school 50 or 15 years ago or was a faculty member, they must have distinguished themselves by making some unique contribution in their careers and served their communities with honor and significant commitment.”

Read More »


RBR scholarsNational Merit Scholars Leah Roberts (Little Silver), Sara Halloran (Red Bank), Sofia Dadap (Red Bank) and Halle Butler (Little Silver) are pictured with (back row) RBR Guidance Supervisor Dawn Kaszuba, and (end) RBR Principal Risa Clay.

Press release from Red Bank Regional High School

Recently, the Red Bank Regional Board of Education recently honored Halle Butler and Leah Roberts, both of Little Silver, and Sofia Dadap and Sara Halloran, both of Red Bank, for being named National Merit Commended Scholars. These awards are based on the students’ performance on the 2012 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying test. The National Merit Scholars represent the top 5% of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2012-2013 competition.

RBR Guidance Supervisor Dawn Kaszuba states of the students’ accomplishment, “This distinction is a testament to the commitment to excellence and hard work of these four young ladies. Interestingly, this year’s commended scholars are all a part of the VPA (Visual & Performing Arts Academy) program.”

Read More »