Class 100-TylerEvan D. Tyler of the Shrewsbury Hose Company (third from left) was the recipient of the Class 100 Ronald Fitzpatrick Award, at the Monmouth County Fire Academy’s graduation ceremony on January 14. Congratulating him are County Freeholders John P. Curley, Lillian G. Burry, and Serena DiMaso.

Press release from Monmouth County Fire Academy

Evan D. Tyler of the Shrewsbury Hose Company was the recipient of an annual award, as the Monmouth County Fire Academy graduated 42 firefighters from the Firefighter I program last week. Graduates were divided into two classes, with Class 100 graduating on January 14 and Class 101 graduating on January 15. Both ceremonies were held at the Fire Academy on Route 33 in Freehold.

Tyler was one of two graduates to earn the Ronald Fitzpatrick Award, given to one member of each graduating class, and named in honor of a Fire Academy instructor who died in 2003. Timothy J. Smigelsky of Howell’s Ramtown Fire Company was the award recipient for Class 101.

Monmouth County Fire Marshal Henry Stryker III congratulated the graduates and urged them to continue their training with advanced courses offered at the Fire Academy.

“It takes a special type of person to be a firefighter,” Stryker said. “They have to have a passion to do this job. The graduates sitting before us have that passion because they have completed the rigorous training as their first step.”

Graduates worked 188 hours over 30 sessions and received training in rescue, fire extinguishment, hazardous materials response, cardio-pulmonary resuscitation, electrical safety, and care of hoses, ladders and other equipment.

“Tonight, you become members of one of American’s greatest creations – organized firefighting,” Freeholder John P. Curley said in his address to the classes. “You will answer the call and place your lives on the line to save someone else’s life and property, because that is what you are trained to do. And you received the best training available from the instructors at this Academy.”

“I have no doubt you will be an asset to your community,” said Curley. “These firefighter graduates are to be commended for their dedication and willingness to serve.”

Applications for the September 2014 Firefighter I class are now being accepted, with a registration form available here.

Following is the list of 2014 Fire Academy graduates in each class.

Firefighter 1 – Class 100

Spencer T. Arnold, Manasquan Fire Department

Matthew J. Buttermark, East Freehold Fire Company

Michael J. Cook, Belmar Fire Department

Douglas E. Granai, West Keansburg Fire Company

Milton Latorres, Bradley Beach Fire Department

Anthony A. Malgieri, Southard Fire Company

Brendan T. Murch, Colts Neck Fire Department

Joseph O. Nappi, Morganville Independent Fire Company

Jason P. Neff, Tinton Falls Fire Company # 1

Scott A. Nokes, Neptune Township Fire Department

Robert J. Pahlck, Bradley Beach Fire Department

Joshua P. Prevost, Keyport Fire Department

Taylor W. Rounds, Freehold Township Independent Fire Company

Anthony F. Santiago, Freehold Township Independent Fire Company

Bryan A. Sherer, Englishtown Fire Department

Ashley N. Truffa, Glendola Fire Company

Brian L. Turner, Ocean Grove Fire Department

Evan D. Tyler, Shrewsbury Hose Company

Michael T. Ventriglio, East Freehold Fire Company

Donald L. Warren, West Keansburg Fire Company


Firefighter 1 – Class 101

Michael M. Biyad, Colts Neck Fire Department

Michael Christie, Ramtown Fire Company

John M. DePinto, Adelphia Fire Company

Franklin L. Doremus, Neptune Township Fire Department

Kenneth J. Evola, Gordon’s Corner Fire Company

Alexander Handel, Gordon’s Corner Fire Company

Austin J. Knox, Belmar Fire Department

Jonathan Michel, Neptune Township Fire Department

Steven J. O’Dwyer, Keyport Fire Department

Joseph A. Panzarino, East Freehold Fire Company

Joseph D. Rich III, Farmingdale Fire Department

Dane M. Richards Jr., Eatontown Fire Department

Neil E. Robinson, Millstone Township Fire Company

Dale J. Seitz, Adelphia Fire Company

Timothy J. Smigelsky, Ramtown Fire Company

Robert Snyder, New Point Comfort Fire Company

Sam R. Springsteen, Colts Neck Fire Department

Edgardo Valera, Belmar Fire Department

Christopher R. Villanueva, Millstone Township Fire Company

Kevin Weigert, Gordon’s Corner Fire Company

Thomas B. Winemiller Jr., Belmar Fire Department

John M. Zuber, Freehold Fire Department