knollwoodThe first-place winners of the MCISCCL Invitational Meet of Champions from Knollwood School are (back row, left to right) Coach Chris Stephan, Lisa Sandoli, Olivia Rehder, Julia Tambaro, Jackie Hanson, and Coach Christina Jarosinski, and (front row, left to right) Caroline Coleman, Lindsay Boyle, and Sarah Landy.

Press release from Fair Haven School District

The Fair Haven Board of Education recently honored the boys’ and girls’ cross-country teams and the field hockey team at Knollwood School, in acknowledgment of their outstanding seasons.

Athletes and coaches enjoyed a pizza and cake party at Knollwood School on Wednesday, November 19. Students were called up individually and given certificates of achievement, while their proud parents and coaches looked on.

The boys’ and girls’ cross-country teams achieved spectacular success in their first seasons of competition, each finishing undefeated with a 7-0 record. Both the boys’ and girls’ teams were named 2014 MCISSL League Champions.

In addition, seven students from each team competed in the prestigious 2014 MCISCCL Invitational Meet of Champions featuring over 200 runners from around the state. The Knollwood girls claimed the first-place finish, and the Knollwood boys claimed the second-place berth in their competition.

The field hockey team enjoyed a stellar season as well under Coach Jane Sieg, with a record of 12 wins and just one loss. The team, consisting of girls in sixth, seventh, and eighth grade, was named the 2014 American League Champion.

“I would like to point out that the boys and girls assembled here are students as well as athletes,” Fair Haven Superintendent of Schools Nelson Ribon said in his opening remarks, “I would like to thank their parents for supporting them and encouraging their success in the classroom as well as on the playing field.”

Earning first place in the MCISCCL Invitational Meet of Champions event were girls cross- country team members Julia Tambaro (placing 5th overall); Olivia Rehder (13); Jackie Hanson (21); Lisa Sandoli, (26); Lindsay Boyle (30); Caroline Coleman (45); and Sarah Landy (50).

The boys cross country team members who earned a second place finish at the MCISCCL Invitational were Jake Jakub (placing 3rd); Luke Reid (9); David Ham (16); Christian Danielczyk, (18); Ford Stevens (46); Jack Nolan (55); and Nolan Kostulas (63).

“It has been an absolute pleasure to work with all of these terrific kids who have supported one another throughout the season,” said Knollwood seventh-grade social studies teacher Chris Stephan, who coaches the cross-country teams along with sixth-grade literacy teacher Christina Jarosinski.

Knollwood boys cross country team members are: eighth graders Quinn Ahimovic, Ryan Daly, Christian  Danielczyk, Jake Jacub, Ryan Daly, David Ham, Ryan Kane, Nolan Kostulas, Guy Mazzeo, Quinn Nolan, Luke Reid, and Ford Stevens; seventh graders Mike Bogardus, Tim Carey, Jack Cusick, JP Davis, Nick Donlon, Thomas Friedman, Colin Gray, Tristan Holter, Andrew Jacomme, Jack Nolan, Matt Padovano, Graham Pfeil, Michael Piperno, Dan Rigby, Thomas Russo, and Luke Turoczi; sixth graders Thomas Elgrim, William Francis, Gabe LePage, Jack Lynch, Andrew Schmid, James Schuldt, Robby Sypeck, Jack Theodore, Drew Venancio, and Gabe Wigington.

Knollwood girls cross country team members include: eighth-graders Emma DeSantis, Grace Geiger, Jackie Hanson, Olivia Rehder, Lisa Sandoli, Bridgette Simpson, and Julia Tambaro; seventh graders Lindsay Boyle, Caroline Coleman, Stella Demcsak, Emily Everett, Charlotte Henry, Kristin Felsman, Kate Halcrow, Sarah Landy, Alison Lista, and Celeste Winters.

Knollwood field hockey team members include: eighth graders Alina Arko, Shannah Dolan, Kira Flammer, Jeannie Gagliano, Erin McKay, Caroline McManus, Amanda Merton, Gillian Thorp, Kerry Tuorto, and Elena Werner; seventh graders Jane Banahan, Gibson DiCenso, and Nora Doonan; and sixth graders Corinne Callahan, Madelyn Delvecchio, Madeline Dengler, Sarah Dolan, Sarah Neczesny, and Avery Pawlak.

In addition to President Mark Mancuso, Board of Education Members honoring the Knollwood student-athletes were Vice-President Claudia Brasch, Cathy Alescio, Michael Bernstein, Bennett Coleman, Katy Frissora, Tracy Rehder, Jeff Spector, and Randi Walker.