rfhRumson-Fair Haven junior Hannah Stamer (center) was among the RFH students recognized for academic and athletic achievements at an April 14 meeting of the RFH Board of Education.

Press release from Rumson-Fair Haven Regional High School

At a scheduled meeting on April 14, several individual students and athletic teams from Rumson-Fair Haven Regional High School were recognized by the Board of Education for academic and athletic achievements.

“It is becoming increasingly commonplace for us to begin our meetings here in the auditorium to accommodate all of the students who are accomplishing amazing things,” RFH Superintendent Peter Righi told the assembled students, parents, coaches, and club advisors. “The certificates awarded tonight are not just another piece of paper – they have a much deeper meaning as the ‘end game’ result of a lot of hard work.”

Students honored were:

Junior Hannah Stamer, who received the President’s Volunteer Service Award for many hours spent working with “Hand-in-Hand Autism Services;”

Juniors Colin Courchesne and Kiera McKay, who were accepted into the highly selective Governor’s School of New Jersey summer programs for Engineering and Science, respectively;

Members of the Future Business Leaders of America, who competed successfully with 35 other schools at the Regional Level. They included senior Nick Hawke (Computer Problem Solving, 3rd Place), junior Shelby Heard (Business Communications, 5th Place), senior Perry Litwin (Economics, 6th Place), senior Andrew Maris (Business Procedures, 2nd Place) and sophomore Arnold Muralt (Computer Applications, 4th Place).

Teams honored were:

Boys Swimming, for the school’s first State Sectional Championship;

Boys Basketball, for the first Shore Conference Championship for RFH, as well as Asbury Park Press All-Shore Basketball Player of the Year (junior Brendan Barry) and Coach of the Year (Chris Champeau);

Girls Cross Country, for making NJSIAA history as the first team to capture a fourth straight State Sectional Championship;

Girls Winter Track, for achieving both the State Sectional Championship (for the fourth consecutive time) and Group II Relay Championship (the school’s first).

RFH Board of Education Members are Lisa Waters (President), Michael Goione, D.C. (Vice-President), Terry Liccardi, M.D., Lourdes Lucas, Sarah Maris, Anne Marie McGinty, Chuck Volker, James Wassel, and Kaye F. Wise. Frank Gripp serves as Business Administrator and Board Secretary.