Rumson superPress release from Rumson School District

Dr. John E. Bormann, Ed. D., has been announced as Superintendent of the Rumson School District. A special Rumson Board of Education Meeting, during which all members voted unanimously in favor of his appointment, was held on June 9 at Forrestdale School.

A two-time recipient of the Governor’s Teacher Recognition Award,  Dr. Bormann (at left in photo) was selected from a field of 32 candidates, and will be responsible for Deane-Porter School (Pre-K through third grade) and Forrestdale School (fourth through eighth grade). His official start date is August 1, and his contract runs through June 30, 2020.

“When we did our research and checked his references, we discovered one good thing after another about Dr. Bormann,” said Rumson Board of Education President Colleen O’Connor. “His strong leadership skills and track record of successful interactions with teaching staff and with parents make him a perfect fit for our district.”

A resident of Freehold, Dr. Bormann spent 19 years in the highly successful Spring Lake School District, where he served as Chief School Administrator for the past four years. He also has experience in the field as a Science Teacher, Supervisor of Curriculum, and Superintendent/Principal. As Superintendent, he received the Monmouth County Education Association Friend of Education Award, and has also earned the Milken Family Foundation National Educator Award.

Dr. Bormann holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Environmental Science from Rutgers University, a Master of Science Degree in Educational Technology from Ramapo College, a Master of Arts Degree in Educational Leadership from Georgian Court University, and a Doctorate in Educational Leadership from St. Peters University.

“I would like to thank the Rumson School Board for this opportunity,” said the new Superintendent. “I am very excited to learn the Rumson traditions and history and meld that with my own vision, which is this: ‘If it doesn’t expand the possibilities for our students, why do it?’”

Members of the Rumson Board of Education are: Maura Beyer, Russell Binns, John Connors, Charles H. Jones III, Margaret Kaminski Simons (Vice President), Diane MacGillis, Elaine Melia, Colleen O’Connor (President), and Kim Swain.