Press release from The Community YMCA

At its 141st annual meeting, held Wednesday, June 17 at Rumson Country Club, The Community YMCA Board of Directors elected Joseph Oriolo chairman and chief volunteer officer. Oriolo replaces Patricia Whittemore, who led the board for two years.

The Shrewsbury resident has been a member of the Y board since 2008, and most recently served as vice chairperson. He also served as chairman of the Y’s Governance Committee.

“We are grateful for Patty’s leadership and we are pleased to welcome Joe as chairman and chief volunteer officer,” said President and CEO Rhonda Anderson. “He will continue to lead us forward to help increase our visibility as a cause-driven organization that strengthens the lives of over 20,000 people we serve in Monmouth County and beyond.”

The Board of Directors elected Jennifer Lakefield as vice chairperson. Lakefield, of Colts Neck, was appointed to the board in 2012 and has served as chairperson of the Annual Campaign for the past three years.

John Badenhop, of Little Silver, was re-appointed treasurer. Elected to the board in 2013, Badenhop oversees the Audit, Property and Finance and Capacity Building committees. He also served two terms on the Y’s Board of Management at the Family Health and Wellness Center in Red Bank.

Tahj Holden, of Tinton Falls, was appointed to a three-year term on the Board of Directors. At a prior Board of Directors meeting, Samara O’Neill of Jackson was appointed to a three-year term on the board.

The Board of Directors is responsible for establishing policies for The Community YMCA and providing leadership for financial development, strategic planning, operations and community collaborations.