Left to right: Red Bank Regional Assistant Principal Rob Donohoe is pictured with RBR students Robert Villaluz, Jack McNally, Chase Hintelmann, Makoto Brown, Ella Brockway, Paige Whittle, RBR Principal Risa Clay, and RBR Guidance Director Jason Sabino.

Press release from Red Bank Regional High School

At its February 1 board meeting, the Red Bank Regional (RBR) Board of Education commended its top academic scholars. Six students — Ella Brockway, Shrewsbury; Makoto Brown, Tinton Falls; Chase Hintelmann, Little Silver; Jack McNally Little Silver; Robert Villaluz, Shrewsbury; and Paige Whittle, Little Silver — were all recognized as Commended Scholars. This is honor is achieved by students who scored among the top 2.4% of over 1.4 million students who took the PSAT in their junior year.

Sean Murphy of Red Bank, recently commended by the RBR Board of Education for his eligibility for a special scholarship from the National Merit Scholarship Program, is flanked by (left to right) RBR Principal Risa Clay, RBR Guidance Director Jason Sabino and RBR Assistant Principal Rob Donohoe.

Ella Brockway is the editor in chief of the student newspaper The Buccaneer, and the president of the History Club. A gifted writer whose school sports coverage has been published in many local newspapers and websites, Ella has received early acceptance to the Medill School of Journalism at Northwestern University, where she will study to become a sports journalist.

Makoto Brown is a member of the Academy of Information Technology (AOIT), where he has successfully competed in many competitions including cybersecurity. He may seek a career in this important field as he plans to major in computer science in college. Makoto also enjoys playing keyboard and singing.

Chase Hintelmann is a high achieving academic student as an attendee of the NJ HOBY and the  NJ Scholars Program. He is also an entertainer who has appeared in an array of both school and regional musicals, displaying his talent as a competitive tap dancer. Chase created a visiting student performing arts group who entertain at nursing homes and senior citizen residences. He is engaged in a unique internship this year working with a local doctor and observing operations in his quest to become a surgeon.

An AOIT student, Jack McNally has participated in various coding competitions in Monmouth County, as well as contributing to RBR’s improving standings in the math league competitions. He also runs cross country and track and hopes to double major next year in mathematics and computer science seeking a career in STEM.

Robert Villaluz, an AOIT student, has been a member of RBR’s superstar Cybersecurity Patriot team, making the national finals with his peers for three years in a row. He is very excited to be accepted early to Cornell University where he will study computer science.

Paige Whittle is a Photography major in RBR’s Visual and Performing Arts Academy. She has served on both the RBR Cheerleading squad and the swim team, and will be attending Baylor University in Texas next year, where she intends to major in neuroscience.

Additionally, several other high achieving students were commended by the Board of Education at their Feb 2 meeting. Engineering major Sean Murphy of Red Bank was notified that he was eligible for a special scholarship toward his college tuition. He was one of 1200 students nationwide to be eligible for this scholarship.

Several students also received several designations of AP Scholar, with Jack McNally, Sean Murphy and Andrew Schembor named AP Scholars with Honor for having achieved an average score of at least 3.15 on all AP exams and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. Ella Brockway, William Grant, Robert Villaluz and Paige Whittle were named AP Scholars for scoring a 3 or higher on three or more AP exams.