AJRFH junior Andrew J. (A.J.) Kelly (third from left, with his father Phillip, mother Melissa, and grandfather James) received the Dwight D. Eisenhower Outstanding Leader of Character Award and the St. Michael’s College Book Award.

Press release from Rumson-Fair Haven Regional High School

The achievements of dozens of standout scholars, athletes and performing artists were honored by the Rumson-Fair Haven Regional High School Board of Education, in a June 16 ceremony at the school’s auditorium.

Special honors went to senior Andrew Maris, commended for achieving the status of Semi-Finalist in the Final Round of the Presidential Scholarship Competition, and to junior A.J. Kelly, who was selected for both the Dwight D. Eisenhower Outstanding Leader of Character Award, and the St. Michael’s College Book Award.

A complete list of honorees appears after the break.

The “Junior Awards” were presented to the following RFH students for academic success, character, service and leadership:

  • Bausch and Lomb Honorary Science Award (University of Rochester) – Shannon Lerner
  • Xerox Award for Innovation and Information Technology (University of Rochester) – Christopher Fahey
  • Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute – Rensselaer Medal – Colin Courchesne
  • Rochester Institute of Technology Creativity and Innovation Award – Bridget Fitzgerald and Jack Padovano
  • Rochester Institute of Technology Computing Medal and Scholarship Award – Christian Capanelli and Nicole Meickle
  • The George Washington School of Engineering and Applied Science (SEAS) Award – John C. Liang
  • The Frederick Douglass and Susan B. Anthony Award (University of Rochester) – Colin Courchesne
  • The George Eastman Young Leaders Award (University of Rochester) – Kiera McKay
  • Barnard College Book Award – Bridget Fitzgerald
  • Mount Holyoke College Book Award – Nicole Meickle
  • Randolph College Book Award – Shelby Heard
  • St. Anselm College Book Award – Christopher Fahey
  • St. Michael’s College Book Award – Leigh Forsyth and Andrew J. Kelly
  • Villanova University Book Award – Jack Padovano
  • Wellesley Club of New Jersey Book Award – Katherine Kane
  • The American Association of Teachers of French – Rose Litwin
  • West Point’s Dwight D. Eisenhower Outstanding Leader of Character Award – Andrew J. Kelly

Also honored were juniors who were chosen to participate in summer programs with stringent selection guidelines:

  • Boys State (Delegate) – Andrew Bunt
  • New Jersey Governor’s School in the Sciences – Kiera McKay
  • New Jersey Governor’s School of Engineering – Colin Courchesne
  • Rotary Youth Leadership Conference (Delegates) – Matthew Hughes and Theodore Sourlis
  • Simons Summer Research Fellowship (CN Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics) – John C. Liang
  • Young Women’s Leadership Institute – Leigh Forsyth

Activities Awards were also presented to the following students:

  • Julia Mosby – For achieving the Count Basie Award for Best Supporting Actress in a Drama
  • Sara Safarian – All American Dance Award (Top Dance Team “Bulldawg”)
  • Deanna Heller, Stefani Sciametta, and Abbey Weis – All-American Award (Universal Dance Association)
  • Jessica Weltz – Most Valuable Dancer Award for the 2014-15 Basketball Season
  • Madison McManus and Lauren Mueller – For being named “Top of the Top in Monmouth County” for Art at the Monmouth County Arts Festival
  • Christy Jadevaia – For winning first prize with her entry – “Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs” – in the Edible Book Contest sponsored by the RFH Cooking Club and the RFH Media Center during National Library Week
  • Caroline Kostecky – For achieving second place in the EduCare Essay Contest
  • Sophie Knochenhauer – A “Team High Scorer” in the Shore Math League challenge
  • Ben Cooper, JC Liang, David Mancuso, and Liam Packer – Members of the RFH Scientific Frontier Club who claimed third place in the IEEE NJ Coast Robot Challenge

The following teams were honored for their achievements:

  • Boys Golf – Group II State Championship
  • Boys Lacrosse – Group I Overall Championship
  • Girls Lacrosse – Group II South Jersey Sectional Championship