Press release from Rumson School District

At their meeting on January 25, the members of the Rumson Board of Education honored Keri Lecorchick and Carol Tagliareni as Teachers of the Year, and Debra Tomaino and Sandy Self as Educational Services Professionals of the Year.

Lecorchick is a second grade teacher at Deane Porter School, and Tagliareni teaches sixth grade ELA at Forrestdale School. Tomaino is a Speech Language Therapist and Self an LDTC/Special Education Teacher.  The teachers were nominated by their peers, and a committee representing fellow teachers, administration, BOE members, and parents utilized a New Jersey Department of Education rubric to evaluate each nominee.

The honors came as a surprise at the monthly staff meeting, following the delivery to the Superintendent of an announcement that revealed the honorees. Principals Shari Feeney (Deane Porter) and Jennifer Gibbons (Forrestdale) organized the event.

In a statement, Rumson Superintendent Dr. John Bormann said, “The Rumson Board of Education is pleased to announce its participation in the second year of the Governor’s Educator of the Year Award.  This celebratory program integrates our former Teacher of the Year program with the Governor’s Teacher/Educational Services Professional Recognition Program, to continue to recognize the talents of select members of our outstanding Forrestdale and Deane Porter School staff.”

BOE President Colleen O’Connor spoke about the honorees’ dedication and proven leadership as well as their love of teaching and impact on their students and presented each with a gift from the Rumson Board of Education.

Dr. Bormann noted that both Lecorchick and Tagliareni have completed their applications for possible selection as the Monmouth County Teacher of the Year. Both teachers will be honored at the Monmouth County Superintendent’s Roundtable ceremony to be held at Monmouth University in the spring.

“This is a great opportunity for all of our Monmouth County Teachers of the Year to be honored together. Their principals and Superintendents will be present to thank them for all they do and to deliver on the royal treatment they deserve.” shared Dr. Bormann.

(Pictured left to right: Debra Tomaino, Keri Lecorchick, Sandy Self, Carol Tagliareni)